Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#485254 09/10/23 02:40 PM
46chevy Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
Not so proud that I won’t ask for help! I have a stock 1946 Stylemaster 2door with what is possibly the original starter. Starter was never very reassuring in my 27 years of ownership and turned over quite slow. After a 6 month hiatus, it now barely turns the engine over a time or two before dying. Installed new fully charged and tested battery. Nothing changed. Decided to open it up and boy it was dirty, but brushes looked good and I ohm tested armature. Ohm tests looked good. Cleaned everything, put it back together and reinstalled it making sure ground was clean. Same problem. Then tried removing spark plugs one by one. It turned over better with every plug I removed. The starter spinned the engine freely when all plugs removed so it was not an engine seizing issue. Starter Had harder and harder time turning over engine with every plug I put back in. Thought maybe it was back-pressure related (clogged exhaust) so disconnected exhaust pipe from exhaust manifold. The problem persisted. Problem seems to be compression related. Could it be that starter no longer strong enough (torque-y) to turn engine under normal compression (with all plugs installed)? Can a starter loose it’s engine turning capacity over time? Has anyone experienced this before? Anyone have an idea what is causing this? The next step I am considering is getting a remanufactured starter, which would be disastrous and near-fatal to my weekend beer stash!!! Any help greatly appreciated. Should I have posted this in the year-specific forum? Sorry for long thread but wanted to give youz guys as much detail as possible about the symptoms. Thanks a bunch.

Marcellin
Hall Monitor
ChatMaster - 7,000
Hall Monitor
ChatMaster - 7,000